Events Diary

 

Nursery Events September 2015 to July 2016
 
Friday 18 September – Jeans for Genes
Jeans for Genes is a charity which we support each year. The charity supports and improves the lives of children affected by genetic disorders. In exchange for a small donation, children are invited to wear their jeans to nursery.
 
Wednesday 30 September, 5.30pm – Open Evening for parents
An opportunity for parents and carers (no children!) to come along to nursery to meet the staff and find out what and how your child will be learning over the coming year.
 
Friday 2 October, 9.00am – MacMillan Coffee Morning
We will be taking part in the world’s biggest coffee morning raising funds for MacMillan Cancer Care. As well as raising funds for this worthwhile cause, this is a lovely opportunity to come along and meet other parents of our nursery children. The coffee morning will be held in Oxclose Children’s Centre.
There will also be a book sale and a cake sale – any donations will be most gratefully received!
 
Thursday 22 October – Harvest Festival
Our nursery children will be performing songs for Harvest Festival. Morning children will be performing at 10.30am and afternoon children at 2.00pm. Due to health and safety reasons we can only allow 2 adults for each nursery child.
 
Friday 23 October – Inset Day
 
Half term - Monday 26 October – Friday 30 October
Nursery will reopen on Monday 2 November.
 
Monday 2 November – School Photographer
 
November Parent Open Days
An opportunity to discuss your child’s progress with their Keyworker. Timetables will be available in our cloakroom near to the date.
Purple Group – Tuesday 3 November
Yellow Group – Wednesday 4 November
Orange Group – Thursday 5 November
Dates will follow for Parent Open Days for our 2 year old children.
 
Friday 13 November – Children in Need Day
Children are invited to wear a super hero costume or something ‘spotty’ to help raise funds for Children in Need. There will be a very special visitor in nursery collecting our donations.
 
Wednesday 2 December – Pensioners Christmas Hamper
During the month of November we will be collecting food donations to make up a giant Christmas food hamper which will be delivered to our local pensioners. Some of our children will help deliver the hamper to Oxclose Church on 2 December.
 
Wednesday 9 December – Christmas Craft Day
Parents and carers are invited into nursery to help their child make a special keepsake Christmas decoration. Timetables will be available in our cloakroom near to the date.

 
 
Wednesday 16 December – Christmas Nativity Play
Our children will be performing a Christmas Nativity in nursery. Performance times will be 10.30am and 2.00pm. Due to health and safety reasons, we can only allow 2 adults for each nursery child.
 
Thursday 17 December – Christmas Hat Making Day
Parents and carers are invited into nursery to help their child make a hat for their Christmas Party. Timetables will be available in our cloakroom near to the date.
 
Friday 18 December – Christmas Parties
Our parties will be held from 10.00am until 12.00midday for all children. Please note there will be no afternoon nursery sessions or Wraparound Care on this date.
The party for children in our main nursery will be held at Oxclose Church and children will need to be taken to and collected from the church.
Our 2 year olds will have their party in nursery.
 
Monday 21 December to Monday 4 January 2016 – Christmas holidays
Nursery will reopen on Tuesday 5 January 2016
 
Half term – Monday 15 February to  Friday 19 February
Nursery will reopen on Monday 22 February
 
Thursday 3 March – World Book Day
Children are invited to come to nursery dressed as their favourite story character.
 
March Parent Open Days
An opportunity to discuss your child’s progress with their Keyworker. Timetables will be available in our cloakroom near to the date.
Purple Group – Tuesday 15 March
Yellow Group – Wednesday 16 March
Orange Group – Thursday 17 March
Dates will follow for Parent Open Days for our 2 year old children.
 
Friday 18 March – Sports Relief Day
In exchange for a small donation children are invited to come to nursery dressed in something ‘sporty’.
 
Easter Holidays – Thursday 24 March to Monday 11 April
We return to nursery on Tuesday 12 April
 
Week commencing 23 May – Community Litter Picking
Parent and carer volunteers are welcome to come along and help our children take part in the Keep Britain Tidy Litter Pick.
Tuesday 24th – Yellow Group
Wednesday 25th – Orange Group
Thursday 24th – Purple Group
 
Half Term – Monday 30 May until Friday 3 June
We return to nursery on Monday 6 June.
 
Friday 24 June – Inset Day

 
Saturday 2 July – Summer fete
Everyone is welcome to come along to our summer fete in nursery. There will be lots of fun from 10am until 1pm.
 
 
Friday 8 July – Nursery trip
Venue to be decided. Please note that all children will need to be accompanied by an adult on the summer trip and there will be no nursery sessions on this day.
 
Saturday 2 July – Summer fete
Everyone is welcome to come along to our summer fete in nursery. There will be lots of fun from 10am until 1pm.
 
Wednesday 13 July – Kite Flying in Princess Anne Park
Everyone is welcome to come along for kite flying and a giant picnic in Princess Anne Park. There will be both morning and afternoon trips. Full details will follow near to the date.
 
Wednesday 20 July – End of Year Parties
Parties will be held at 10am until 12 noon for both morning and afternoon children. There will be no nursery sessions or Wraparound Care on this date.
The party for children in our main nursery will be held in Oxclose Church and children will need to be taken to and collected from the church.
Our 2 year olds will have their party within nursery.
 
 
Forest School Experience
Children in the main nursery will have the opportunity to take part in our Forest School experience. They will travel by mini bus in their Key Groups to the woodland section of Herrington Park. At Forest School we aim to inspire and encourage children to develop their personal, social and emotional skills through participating in activities that are motivating and achievable.
These skills include:
 

  • Independence
  • Courage
  • Confidence
  • Self motivation
  • Self discovery
  • Consideration
  • Respect and responsibility for themselves, others and the environment
  • Communication
  • Self esteem
 
Visits will take place over the following dates.
 
 
Yellow Group Orange Group Purple Group
Friday 9 October Wednesday 3 February Friday 15 April
Thursday 15 October Wednesday 10 February Friday 22 April
Wednesday 11 November (morning group) Wednesday 24 February Friday 29 April
Thursday 12 November (afternoon group) Friday 4 March Friday 6 May
Monday 16 November Friday 11 March Friday 13 May
Monday 23 November    
Monday 30 November    

 
 
As you can see we have a very busy year ahead! We will keep you informed of all events etc over the coming year by text message and our TV in the cloakroom. We are also planning to set up our own Facebook page very soon which we will also use to remind you of events in nursery.
 
We are also in the process of creating a new website for our school which will show photographs of everything happening in Oxclose Community Nursery School!

 

Latest News

Latest News

Parent Pages